Upcoming Events

  • News



The Coordinating Committee

Each of the member networks is represented by a nominee on the World Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice Co-ordinating Committee (WCC).


The WCC adopts the CAIPE definition of IPE, stated as:
Interprofessional Education occurs when two or more professions learn with, from and about each other to improve collaboration and the quality of care

The WCC also adopts the WHO Framework definition of collaborative practice, stated as:
Collaborative practice occurs when multiple health workers from different professional backgrounds provide comprehensive services by working with patients, their families, carers, and communities to deliver the highest quality of care across settings. (WHO, 2010, p. 13). 


Our aims are to:

  • Establish and maintain communication between networks of interprofessional education (IPE) and collaborative practice (CP)
  • Coordinate and promulgate values, principles, and concepts of IPE and CP
  • Promote knowledge about IPE and CP worldwide, by publicizing, listing, disseminating, and referring to significant publications (research-based and policy-based)
  • Establish relationships and make representations concerning interprofessional education and collaborative practice as appropriate with other world associations and organisations
  • Actively promote IPE and CP to other world associations and organizations with regard to human health and education (e.g., WHO, UNESCO, worldwide professional bodies)
  • Promote and support the organization of the biannual ATBH conference series and select conference hosts through a fair and transparent process.


Membership of the WCC for 2014 to 2017


  • Mark Earnest (AIHC)
  • Ruby Grymonpre (CIHC)
  • Marion Jones (AIPPEN)
  • Richard Gray (CAIPE)
  • Erik Vestergaard (Nipnet)
  • André Vyt (EIPEN)
  • Hideomi Watanabe (JAIPE & JIPWEN)
  • Marion Helme (Convenor)


Administration and Coordination

CAIPE provides the WCC with its organisational and administrative base convened and chaired by Professor Hugh Barr, to be followed by Dr Marion Helme.

ATBH website support is provided by the School of Pharmacy and Life Sciences elearning support team, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen


© Copyright Robert Gordon University. All Rights Reserved.